National Football League, 2016

April 12, 2017 by in Football Standings tags: ,

2016 saw the National Football League hold its 126th season of premier football (since 1890), and 97th season of formalized league play (since 1922). The season started September 8, 2016 and ran until February 5, 2017. Conventionally, this season is named NFL 2016-2017 since the exhibition and regular season started in 2016 culminating in the championship in 2017.

Thirty-two teams competed in a 16 game season, with twelve of the 32 teams (37.5%) competing in the playoffs. The National Conference and American Conference champions faced against each other for the Super Bowl Championship.


Championships spanning 2015-16 for National Conference (NFL)
Team # of Championships NC Championship Points
Atlanta Falcons
1 (2016) 15
Carolina Panthers
1 (2015) 15


Championships spanning 2015-16 for American Conference (NFL)
Team # of Championships AC Championship Points
New England Patriots
1 (2016) 15
Denver Broncos 1 (2015) 15



Championships spanning 2015-16 for Super Bowl Championship
Team # of Championships Premier Championship Points
New England Patriots 1 (2016) 31
Denver Broncos
1 (2015) 31


The 51st Super Bowl saw the New England Patriots defeat the Atlanta Falcons with the following result:

1.   February 5, 2017 – New England Patriots 34 – 28 Atlanta Falcons @ Houston, Texas


Al Young

Al Young is a sports stats enthusiast and budding web designer. He loves how sports create legends and how sports stats can be tell stories as well. is his first web site dedicated to the group of 'stats-as-stories' web properties.
Al Young

Latest posts by Al Young (see all)

Leave a Comment!

You must be logged in to post a comment.