MLB Growth

Major League Baseball (MLB) officially started in 1876 with the establishment of the National League, though some of the franchises were operating in other leagues before that year. In 1901 the American League became part of the present MLB format.

This is a list of seasons of Major League Baseball.


Year National League Champion American Association Champion Players' League Champion World Series Champion
1890 Brooklyn Bridegrooms Louisville Colonels Boston Reds Tie (3-3-1)
1891 Boston Beaneaters Boston Reds
1894 Baltimore Orioles
1897 Boston Beaneaters
1899 Brooklyn Superbas


Year American League Champion National League Champion World Series Champion
2010 Texas Rangers San Francisco Giants San Francisco Giants (4–1)
2011 St. Louis Cardinals St. Louis Cardinals (4–3)
2012 Detroit Tigers San Francisco Giants San Francisco Giants (4–0)
2013 Boston Red Sox St. Louis Cardinals Boston Red Sox (4–2)
2014 Kansas City Royals San Francisco Giants San Francisco Giants (4–3)
2015 New York Mets Kansas City Royals (4–1)
2016 Cleveland Indians Chicago Cubs Chicago Cubs (4–3)
2017 Houston Astros Los Angeles Dodgers Houston Astros (4-3)
2018 Boston Red Sox Boston Red Sox (4-1)



The following is a timeline of franchise evolution in Major League Baseball. The histories of franchises in the National Association of Base Ball Players (NABBP), National Association of Professional Base Ball Players (NA), Union Association (UA), and American Association (AA) before they joined the National League are also included. In 1900 the minor league Western League renamed itself the American League (AL). All of the 1899 Western League teams were a part of the transformation with the Saint Paul Apostles moving to Chicago and to play as the White Stockings. In 1901 the AL declared itself a Major League. For its inaugural major league season the AL dropped its teams in Indianapolis, Buffalo and Minneapolis and replaced them with franchises in Boston, Philadelphia, and Baltimore and the Kansas City Blues moved to Washington to play as the Senators.

The first line is the formation of the National League in 1876, and the second is the transformation of the American League to a major league in 1901. The third line is the beginning of the expansion era in 1961.

World Series Championships are shown with a "*", National League Pennants before the World Series are shown with a "^", and American League Pennants before the World Series "#". No World Series was played in 1904, so the pennant winners for each league are indicated. Due to the 1994-95 Major League Baseball strike, there were no pennant winners or World Series in 1994, so this year is left blank.


See also


Start a Conversation